The Guest Blog: Winter Solstice by Sierra Hollister

Winter Solstice has always seemed like a time to draw in closer to the hearth, closer to the family as well as closer to our most inner self. The year has been spent, for better or worse, we have sowed and reaped. Now feels like a time of caring for our deepest selves, our soul selves. It is nice to put some portion of the day towards tending and nourishing the well from which we drink. Regardless of the weather, I always like to spend some time outside on this day. Nature is the ultimate cathedral in which to worship. Incidentally, the custom of bringing evergreens into the home comes from long ago when the people wished to signify to the nature spirits that they were welcome, that safe shelter from the cold and dark outside could be found in a home so decorated. I also like to look for my shadow on the solstice as the longest shadow you can cast is at noon on the winter solstice.

When I meditate on the energy of winter solstice, I feel all the seeds snug in their earthen beds, deep below a shimmering blanket of fresh snow. Solstice at winter also feels like the pause at the bottom of the exhale, the ultimate exhale, really. Winter solstice is that moment before we begin to inhale, before the light begins to grow again. It has been my understanding that some of the most profound healing in yoga happens in the pause between the breaths.

A nice practice for this solstice energy might be to sit in Easy Pose, hands in Gyan Mudra, eyes closed. Follow the breath, pausing at the bottom of each exhale, listening before drawing the inhale. Perhaps 3 minutes, 5 minutes or 11 minutes of this. Follow with sweet witnessing meditation, no judgment or attachment, just a witness of what flows up.

My wish for you is that you will make a bit of time to tend your soul this Saturday solstice and that your healing will be profound, your happiness complete. Happy Solstice.

To read more of Sierra Hollister’s work check out her personal blog or the Asheville Yoga Center Blog.

19 comments

  1. Wonderful website. A lot of helpful information here.
    I’m sending it to some friends ans also sharing in delicious.

    And obviously, thanks to your sweat!

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say
    that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your feed
    and I hope you write again soon!

  3. Hi there to all, for the reason that I am in fact keen of reading this weblog’s post to be updated regularly.
    It contains fastidious stuff.

  4. Attractive element of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to say that I get in fact loved
    account your weblog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing in your feeds or even
    I achievement you get admission to consistently fast.

  5. Superb post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic?

    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Kudos!

  6. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I
    am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get
    the hang of it!

  7. I’d like to find out more? I’d lߋve to find out some additionɑl information.

  8. Great article, totally what I wanted to find.

  9. This piece of writing is truly a fastidious one it helps new internet people, who are wishing for
    blogging.

  10. Someboɗy eѕsentially assist to make significantly posts I’dstate.

    Thhis is the ver first time I fгequеnted your website page aոd soo far?
    I amazed with the reѕearсh ʏoս made to create this particular put up extraordinary.
    Magnificent activity!

  11. However, this doesn`t imply that you should spend them for any heartbeat.

    Such breaks are handled as premium currencies by anybody searching
    for info regarding sweet smash cheats. Its content is generated by
    admin, who collect, organize and publish the best content found across Internet – images, stories, videos and offers.

  12. Asking questions are actually fastidious thing if you are not understanding something entirely, however this article presents pleasant understanding even.

  13. Excellent article. Keep posting such kind of information on your site.

    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hey there, You have performed an excellent job.
    I will definitely digg it and in my view recommend to my friends.
    I’m confident they will be benefited from this website.

  14. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer
    for your weblog. You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good asset.

    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d
    absolutely love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back
    to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested.
    Cheers!

  15. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This article posted at this web page is
    genuinely fastidious.

  16. A person essentially lend a hand to make severely articles
    I might state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page
    and up to now? I amazed with the research you made to create this actual
    publish amazing. Wonderful task!

  17. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or
    if it’s the blog. Any feedback would be
    greatly appreciated.

  18. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come
    here and visit more often. Did you hire
    out a designer to create your theme? Outstanding work!

  19. Usually I do not read post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me
    to check out and do it! Your writing style has been amazed
    me. Thanks, quite nice article.

Leave a Reply

